The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is a panel of distinguished professors, well-known academics, and former senior government officials. The Board of Directors oversees the activities of AIPS and sets strategic priorities; it approves new program initiatives, the main fields of study, the publishing policy and selects the winners of AIPS prizes. The members of the board are elected for a 3-year term. The board holds its meetings twice a year. The current members of the Board of Directors are: Dr. Jusuf Bajraktari, Dr. Islam Lauka, Dr. Elida Petoshati, Dr. Eshref Ymeri, Dr. Arian Starova, Dr. Frasher Demaj, Mr. Ramiz Lushaj and Mr. Arben Doci.

The Chairman of the Board of Directors is Dr. Jusuf Bajraktari, a full member of the Kosovo Academy of Science and Arts, and a University professor since 1999. He has had a long and illustrious academic career, working for 25 years for the Institute of History in Pristina, and being its Director for 13 years. During this time, he was also the Chief Editor of the journal “Kosova”, and oversaw many other scholarly publications.

The Executive Director

The AIPS founder and Executive Director, Dr. Islam Lauka, is a career diplomat, a well-known political analyst and a University professor. He has a long and rich experience in service, mainly working in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, holding important positions as: Ambassador of Albania to Kosovo, General Director of Multilateral Relations at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, General Director of Regional Cooperation at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, etc. Since 2013 he is a full-time University professor of Political Science.

     The Experts of AIPS

The AIPS experts conduct research and analysis and develop policy initiatives, coordinating under the four main research programs. Current AIPS experts include:

    Prof. Dr. Gëzim Hadaj
    Prof. Dr. Avni Xhelili
    Prof. Dr. Eshref Ymeri
    Prof. Dr. Frasher Demaj
    Amb. Qirjako Qirko
    Dr. Ilda Zhulali
    Dr. Elida Petoshati
    Dr. Jorgji Kote
    Dr. Etrit Bekteshi
    Dr. Arian Starova
    Mr. Ramiz Lushaj
    Mr. Alban Lauka
    Mr. Edi Sara
    Mr. Astrit Hasani
    Mr. Haxhi Bajraktari
    Mr. Arben Doçi
    Ms. Almona Bajrami
    Mr. Eltion Vërleni